Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Square Deal B - Seating CCI Primers

Jackruger

I am new to reloading. I plan to load only two handgun calibers (38 special & 9mm), and no rifle cartiridges. Estimated volume will be 500-750 rounds/monthly. Based on only loading two handgun calibers and a modest volume of ammo, I am looking at the Square Deal B press.

At the present time, the only small pistol primers I can locate are CCI. I have heard the CCI primers are harder than other primers, and more difficult to seat. Does the SDB have enough leverage to seat the CCI primers? Will the strong mount help with leverage?

Thanks for your input!

Welcome to the forum!

Usually when primers are referred to as being hard they're referring to the primer itself, not that they're necessarily more difficult to seat.

That's why you've probably read suggestions that some primers require a stronger firing pin strike than others.

As long as the brass you're using isn't crimped you shouldn't have any problem seating CCI primers with a SDB press.

Tom

I appreciate the input. I was concerned that the SDB might not have enough leverage to seat the CCI.

I, like several have mentioned, have loaded thousands of rounds using the CCI/SDB combo with out a single issue. Specifically, I load .38sc. I use small rifle primers of both varieties (Winchester and CCI), but over the past couple years I have used CCI exclusively as I got a good deal on 20k primers. I have not had any leverage issues.

Based on only loading two handgun calibers and a modest volume of ammo, I am looking at the Square Deal B press.

I would also just like to add... the SDB is an awesome machine. Seriously. I was my first progressive after a Lee turret press and I simply never went back. I bought the SDB for the exact reasons you specified and have never, ever reconsidered my purchase. Even the "pistol only" constraint has caused me not a moment of hesitation.