Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

MG 180gr FMJ FP and VV N350

gypsy

I'm new to this so be gentle :) I'm having a hard time finding a load recipe for this combination. I gather from my reading here and elsewhere that I ought to move to N320, but this powder is what I've got for now. I'm not looking for a major/minor yet, hopefully I'll work up to competing later, this is just for practice to try and improve.

The data I have is Lyman's 49th which has:

180gr JHP, 1.115 OAL and a start of 5.4 grains N350 (6.0 max)

and I have Speer's 12th which has:

180gr TMJ, 1.120 OAL, and a start of 6.2 grains N350 (6.9 max)

I also found the Vihtavuori reloading guides for 2011 and 2013 but the only 180 grain load they have for N350 is for a HP (1.126 OAL, 5.9 - 6.2 grains N350)

None of those bullets match the flat point Montana gold bullets I have and I'm too new to be comfortable extrapolating on my own. I'm also a little puzzled about the wide difference in powder for the Lyman and Speer loads. The JHP and TMJ bullets are going to be different sizes with different case capacities, but isn't that a dramatic difference in powder used between Lyman & Speer? I'm also surprised at the dearth of information, I thought a 180 FMJ-FP was practically standard for 40?

Can anyone get me started with a decent low-power recipe for practice? I'll be shooting out of an XDm and a HK USP.

Thanks,

Steve

I start working on a load with a low powder charge and an OAL that works in my gun. You can play with this without loading a lot of ammo. Just load up some duds at different lenghts and see how they cycle in your gun. For example my STI 2011 running the 180 JHP from MG likes 1.195 to 1.2. It will run as short as 1.17 but when I cycle by hand it is not as smooth.