Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Attila's Range Diary

Attila

Currently my classification is SS C (45.02), Prod B (63.83), Open C (42.97), Ltd C (47.76)

I am starting to practice. Now I need to continue it. I have been competing in local matches (and a few majors) for all most 8 years. In that time I have practiced very little. That goes for both live fire and dry fire. I joked that my only practice was the previous stage. In reality, it was the truth.

The biggest improvement I had come between October 2011-April 2013. That October I took a month long business trip during which I took my gear. I actually dryfired most days on that trip. Shooting somewhat regular until April helped. Since then it has been downhill. Time to start practicing.

I have mostly shot production, but have dabbled in Single Stack, Limited and even Open. Although it has been mostly production, my heart is with Single Stack. I just got two new 1911s, a Cheely Custom 40 and STI USPSA 9mm. I have a club slot to Single Stack Nats, so that is another reason to start practicing.

I bought the STI USPSA 9 for my daughter to learn with, but I may be using myself. This is due to two reasons.

1. My first press is on backorder and must rely on factory ammo. Right now, that is hard to get. I have enough 40 for Nats and maybe one or two other big matches before hand. I have lots of 9. Therefore I will use the 9 for practice.
  2. I really need to work on fundementals. I may be wrong, but I believe this will be easier to learn with the 9.

The first things I am going to work on is some of the basics. Trigger management, Grip, Draw, Gun Handling and Reloads.