Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

1911 Style 9mm

hoghunter

Fondled a S&W Pro 1911 today and really loved the pointability and grip. Never owned a 1911 style pistol before so I'm coming from a total newbie perspective. I know most 1911 platforms are .45cal guns. Is there a recommended 9mm 1911 pistol out there? Something that is known for reliability and worth the money (not looking for STI right now). I'm not using it for any specific competition just range fun for right now. Sorry if this belongs in another forum.

Edited by hoghunter

you might look at a Taurus PT-1911 in 9mm. They come stock with a few more goodies than a lot of others for less money. I've got one in .45 and like it quite well. Probably would not recommend it if you were in heavy competition but for a shooter will do quite well.

Para Ordinance 18-9 is not a bad pick, look for an older Canadian model or one of the newer North Carolinian models. I have 3 Para's and a Les Baer, the para's shoot very well, all things considered. I have a Para made in Canada, NC, and FL, the one from FL is of a noticeable lower quality.

The P14-45 I have that was made in NC is nearly as accurate as my Les Baer, it really is; I used it in my first 3 gun match and it it ran like a top.

For just plinking around, Rock Island makes a 1911 in 9mm. I have not shot one but they feel nice and have a lot of potential in them. STI Spartans come in .45, .40 and 9mm, price starts at $635 from Dawson. If I remember correctly, the Spartan is built in the same factory as the Rock Islands are, just with some STI parts slapped on there. I just picked up a used one, have not shot it yet but the quality seems fairly good.

Para gone back to a real extractor yet ?

They did get rid of the Power Extractor and are using one from EGW, still not standard 1911 but an excellent upgrade all the same. Like I said, my "new" 1445 eats and spits out everything. I reload and I have run the gambit of loads in it.