Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

best vehicle for young professional/shooter

Hey all,

This is probably a weird request for info, but I need some help. I'm looking to replace my 02 altima when it dies, and I'm not sure what to go with. I am a young professional and commute less than 10 miles each way, but in solid traffic. I'm in Dallas now, but have lived up north for a while before. I can't decide between a truck, smaller SUV, or sedan. I like a bunch of different stuff, but here are the requirements. Let me know what to do and why!

need 4x4/AWD there's enough bad weather here that I want it

seats 4 people, or 2 and a dog, but mostly used for 1

good enough to get my gear to the range, but not a monster in size

gas milage at 20mpg highway at least

under $27,000 new or more likely used

not made by any company that got a bail out

so far I'm looking at a subaru legacy, chevy 1500, ford F150, and the FJ cruiser. I have no idea which way to go with this. Suggestions are appreciated!

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I've got the Subaru Outback and couldn't be happier. I deal with snow here in Indiana and I commute about 7 miles one way to work. The gas mileage is great and when I travel to big shoots its even better. I love the vehicle.

Edited to add: between 25 and 27 mpg city and I get over 30mpg on the highway. AWD and I really like the comfort, I'm 6'4".

Edited by Chris iliff

Honda Element. It has a tailgate, all the seats fold down into a bed. The rear seats can be flipped up and latched out of the way or removed. It gets 25MPG on he road. This photo is from the MGM Iron Man room for everything and more. Mine is AWD.

p189071168-4.jpg

Edited by P.E. Kelley