Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Noob airsoft troubleshooting question

jaredr

new to airsoft but psyched about getting some practice time indoors and doing more than just dry firing. Just picked up a Western Arms gas blowback gun from a forum member and am having some trouble getting started.

20130125_150558.jpg

Please excuse in advance if I'm asking a bonehead question here but I'm not able to get the pistol to fire and not sure what I'm doing wrong. I've never used an airsoft gas blowback gun before, but according to the pictograms in the (japanese) owner's manual it looks pretty straightforward - please advise if I am missing something here?

1) load magazine with gas (I am using propane adapter and coleman camping propane, letting magazine warm up after I fill it, will pick up some silicon to lubricate the seals and firearm internals but for now just want to function fire the pistol)

20130125_150625.jpg

2) load magazine with airsoft bb's,

3) pull down the "tab" on the mag to free the silver gas seal button on the mag,

20130125_150617.jpg

4) the mag, rack slide and go bang.

unfortunately, when the hammer drops, all i get is a click. I get the same result with each of the three magazines that came with the airsoft pistol. Any thoughts on what I'm doing wrong? Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Im not familiar with you gun but all airsofts will need silicon for the seals to operate. Magasines need them as well which is why it is put in the gas. Is the mag actually filling with gas?

I have only ever had one TM not work in the way you describe with just a click and it was an internal part that was broken. If the mags are holding gas it has to be the gun as I doubt you would be so unlucky to get three bad ones.

First port of call would be the shop you bought it from. Sorry I cant be of more help.

It will always go click with an empty magazine.