Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

If you had $1,100 to spend on Production Gun....

biscuit

I am in the market right now and I am trying to stay with production class guns in 9mm. I shoot a P30 right now but I was wondering what other guns might be a good fit. I love my P30, fits my hand I just would like to get a longer barrel (maybe 5') and better trigger action. I'm still new to the sport and have limited experince with other guns. I would appreicate any suggestion.

XD's are great, but I'll venture to say that most folks don't lke the trigger pull, and end up spending a little money for some custom work on the trigger. For 5' or over you have the choice between the XD Tactical, and the new 5.25 competition ready XDM. Even with a trigger job, either gun would keep you under $1,000.

The $11,00 gun that fits you best and you shoot best.

Try the CZ's, STI's, XD's Glocks etc. At the next practice match tell people you're looking and what they like about their gun. You'll probably get offers to try theirs afterwards. Take them up on it! They've probably went through buying a gun and then buying another to find the right one for them. Wisdom is knowledge shared and you'll find that at a practice match. But be careful which path you take.

You can get a personal idea on what makes, models, triggers, sights etc. to be able to come up with your $1,100 gun. You might even get an offer for a sweet used one someone has.

Why $1,100? The cost of ammo is going to overshadow the cost of the gun. If you give yourself an extra $500 to $900 on your budget you're in the range of the best custom used pistols. That's why I included in try a STI.

Oh yeah, it's got to look good to you, you're not going to shoot a gun you consider ugly. But that's for the 1911 forums. :roflol:

Have fun shopping!

DNH

Edited by daves_not_here

G34 $600

3 mags $100

BT DOH $70

Belt $60

6 kytex pouches $90

sights $70

Total $990 with 6 mags and 6 mag pouches you're set.