Matt in TN Posted January 19, 2013 Share Posted January 19, 2013 Just curious - are "accidental head shots" (when you're aiming for the body but hit the head) scored as misses during the Classifier, or are they scored as 0 down? I would think misses, but you know what happens when you assume... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
diehli Posted January 19, 2013 Share Posted January 19, 2013 0 down. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pensfan Posted January 19, 2013 Share Posted January 19, 2013 0 Down unless you are required to hit the body specifically. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adam Sills Posted January 20, 2013 Share Posted January 20, 2013 (edited) Even if you are required to hit the "body", the description of Vickers count says they count as -0. Page 45: "In certain course designs, the course description may specify that a certain number of shots may be required on specific areas of the target, i.e. two (2) shots to the body and one (1) shot to the head. Shots that are specified for the body, but where the shooter actually shoots the head are to be counted as -0." And of course Limited Vickers says "...same as Vickers except..." and doesn't eliminate that sentence. Many people get around it by saying "Torso" instead of "Body", but that rule applies in the classifier. Edited January 20, 2013 by Adam Sills Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adam Sills Posted January 20, 2013 Share Posted January 20, 2013 That said, you're also at the whim of the SO/MD to get a PE or worse for just avoiding the body/head transition. "The rationale is that the head box is a smaller target than the body and therefore is a more difficult target. Shooting all shots to the head to circumvent sight alignment transition may be considered a procedural and incur the penalty." Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matt in TN Posted January 20, 2013 Author Share Posted January 20, 2013 (edited) Interesting - I'm glad I asked! Thanks for the response. I was more thinking about the 20yd shots, and re-reading the rules it just says "targets T1-T3". Of course the best answer is to hit what you're aiming at, but if I hit a head it'll do. Edited January 20, 2013 by Matt in TN Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.