Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Need gunsmithing guru to help with Glock troubleshoot

GregSmith

Hey everyone!

I'm pretty new to shooting and just tried my first small piece of gunwork. I installed a Ghost Rocket 3.5 connector on my Glock 22. Once I got over the fear of taking the gun apart, I did my .25 trigger job using a dremmel and some flitz. Made everything nice and shiney. (don't think I took too much off any one place.) I think I still need to take a little more off the overtravel stop, but that's not really the question. Where I need help is this:

1. When I rack the gun without a magazine, should the slide lock catch the slide? My gun currently does, but I don't remember it doing this before. I've watched tonight of guy racking their glocks and it returns to (is battery the term?) without getting stopped. I'm worried I may have re-installed the slide release/lock incorrectly, but it seems to be in the groove of the pin. The only thing that looks suspect is that the slide lock level stands up about 1/2 inch above the frame when the slide is off. (This seems goofy to me.) It's springy and pressed down just fine. When the slide is on, it's most likely in the correct position. I'm wondering if the little spring/wire on the slide release is the culprit?

2. On my very last trimming of the overtravel stop, I put the gun back together (Like I had done 7-10 times already while filing it down.) and the slide got stuck on something which prevented me from racking the gun. This has since been fixed, but I'm not sure if it's just not happening at the moment. It seems like the slide was running over the slide release/lock and getting off of the rails and then getting caught on the two silver rail guide bars on the back of the gun.