Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Square Deal or 650?

I have my heart set on a 650 but I keep falling back to looking at a square deal. I will be loading only 45 acp to start with but will most likely start loading a few 9mm down the road(if my son saves his 9mm brass that is). I want a press with the auto index feature so that rules out the 550. I am new to loading brass but have been loading shotgun shells for 4 years. I currently load around 15k shotshells per year on a MEC progressive with automate. I know the 650 is probably overkill but I like the features and I would rather spend my time shooting than reloading although reloading is a necessity to shooting. Don't get me wrong I enjoy my reloading time but I had rather load a 1000 or so rounds in a couple of hours once a month than I had load 250 a week. I currently sit at the press once a month and load around a 1000 shotshells and then I shoot them up and repeat. I have three 45's that I have been shooting the last couple of months. Don't know if I will ever shoot anything other than 45 since I only shoot 12 ga in shotshells. I like the 45 and I love the way my 1911 shoots, the same as I like a 12 ga and I love the way my Browning 625 shoots. Like I stated, I want a 650 but keep wondering if a square deal will do what I need but the square deal is not as versital as the 650. I have watched and read umpteen posts and videos on reloading and my brain is scrambled as to what I should do or anticipate for down the road. I am so confused!!!! I do know the press will be a Dillon. LOL

What's your opinion or what would you do? The 650 or Square Deal.

True but the casefeeder is what makes the 650 a great machine.

I am not saying to do away with the case feeder. I am just saying if you leave off the case feeder cost, the 650 is a better buy for a little more money. The case feeder is what jumps the price substantially.

True but the casefeeder is what makes the 650 a great machine.