Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Brand new to reloading - bullet selection question

dforeid

Hey all,

I am new to reloading and am putting together my shopping list right now using suggestions here on the forum. I have a Sig 1911 .45 ACP and have always used FMJ store bought ammo. I see so many of you going with just lead bullets such as Bayou. In fact, I don't see where Bayou even offers a FMJ.

What are the downsides to lead RN bullets vs. FMJ vs. plated? I see lead as being significantly cheaper, but would think it would be much dirtier too. I am only going to shoot maybe 3,000 rounds per year at the most.

Any help would be appreciated, I'm sure this won't be my first question.....

Thanks,

Don

Don, lead is dirty, potentially unhealthy, clogs up your reloader and gun if

you're not careful, is more finicky re: your crimping, and my experience is

not as likely to feed through my BHP as is metal jacketed bullets (my 9mm

feeds jacketed bullets 100% and lead is 99%).

But, it is cheaper, and all the problems above can be lessened if you

take care to do so. :cheers:

I think Bayou bullets are a good middle ground between lead and FMJ; you get some of the economy of lead without the handling issues. My guns run a lot cleaner with them as compared to lead, and they didn't lead my G34 barrel. The downside is you can't walk into your LGS and get them, but 3000 will more than fit into one flat rate box. I highly recommend Bayou, and as a bonus, they are good folks too!

I have a few old rounds of military ammunition issued by the US Army to a friend of mine. The bullets are 230 grain lead round nose. I load lead to about 735 fps with AA #2 and have had good success. I have also loaded plated bullets with good success. I have never experienced excessive leading with moderate loads. I have however experienced leading when I exceeded the leads compressive strength or used undersized bullets which allowed gas cutting.