Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

"Targets may be neutralized with prop knife or gun" possible?

TriggerHippie

I'm relatively new to stage design and I was wondering if there would be game-stopper safety or rules issues with having a knife (real or rubber?) as a stage prop which could be used to neutralize targets. Surprisingly a Google search seems to turn up naught as far as precedent stages or similar questions.

I was envisioning a stage where competitors would be either compelled to carry the knife throughout the stage (necessitating the use of knife/pistol gripping techniques), or alternatively just to use the knife for the first few targets and then abandon or drop the knife afterwards.

For a "knife", I was thinking something that poked small, easy to tape holes, like this old Chinese spike bayonet I have lying around.

It sounds like loads of awesome fun to have the ability to use the knife to neutralize targets, although this opens up a can of worms as to scoring knife hits vice gun hits and puts the stage firmly into the "outlaw" category.

Has anyone ever thought of or even tried something similar to this? Thanks.

Edited by TriggerHippie

Haha really? I can't imagine that my, uh... "stab and dash"?... scenario would be that unique with all the zombie fantasists out there. I recall seeing a grip technique with the hands joined together and the off-hand holding an edged-weapon, blade-down, which kind of inspired this.

Edited by TriggerHippie

In the old "wild" days I set up a stage that started with you having to stab a target with getting one procedural if knife didnt remain in target. It was fun but probably not good since its a little too much bubble gum to be consistant and fair. Hey it was cool n fun though

Jtielke, So what were the primary safety concerns if any when you used the knife in the IDPA setting? Did they stage one particular knife then have you abandon it?