Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Training to hit the A zone

Esther

I'm new to IPSC and thus far have only shot at PPC targets. Does anyone have suggestions for how to train myself to index on the A zone of an IPSC target? (Did you draw a mark on the part of the A zone that you were aiming to hit, or just aim at the center of a regular IPSC target?)

Thanks!

Dry fire....

Aiming at the center of the Classic (turtle shaped) and Metric (humanoid shape) targets isn't really the center of the A zone.

Pick a distance you can still make out where the A zone is. Dry fire a ton. Eventually you'll train yourself to aim at the center of the A zone, which is NOT the center of the target.

What if you simply decided to always hit the a-zone?

Would that not teach you what is required?

Sorry, I'm sipping Polite Zenfindel tonight... :)

SA

The Zen is strong with this one... :devil:

Shoot the A, you decide. Hit the A, you will.

Sorry. There was a Star Wars marathon on recently and I'm stuck in Yoda-speak.

OK - got that out of my system.

Short answer: What Yosh said.

How to train yourself to shoot the A zone?

In practice (dry and live), some find a contrasting mark or black tape on the target to help. Some guys cut out the A zone so that anything other than an A hit is recorded.

When you get a chance to examine a target, you'll see the perforations that mark the scoring zones: Upper A/B, A, C and D. Each zone is also labeled with the zone i.e. a perforated "A" roughly centered within the A zone, and similarly a B, C and D in those respective scoring zones. Look at Appendix B of the USPSA rule book for an example. The perforated labels on a real target are not exactly as shown in the example, but you'll get the idea. You'll also see what Yosh said: the center of the A zone is not the center of the target.

Assuming an open target, I visualise that A label and make it my point of aim.