Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

3-gun Rig - Open Division, what am I missing?

Tactica

I'm new to 3-gun and just put together a rig. I have limited time at this point, but if there's something I've got wrong, I'd like to correct it before my first match on Saturday if I can. Attached is a photo of the rig.

I'm running:

Ottocomp 9mm Open STI frame / caspian slide pistol

Predator Tactical AR-15 .223 rifle

Firebird Precision Akdal MKA 1919 12-ga shotgun

Thank you in advance for any constructive feedback,

post-30551-0-60900500-1352162654_thumb.j

Edited by Tactica

Eku,

I haven't used it in a match yet. However, I picked it specifically for 3-gun, so I hope it pans out. It has both a tension knob as well as a trigger guard lock. So, you can use one or both as needed in a match. With both enabled, I can go prone and run around with confidence... well, at least in the backyard and basement testing...

Those akdal mags are going to be all over the place. I made some kydex clips that hook over my belt and attach to the mags down on the bottom. They can't come off the belt. Yours are going to give you some trouble, I'm afraid.

Comments about the Akdal mags understood. I just don't know what I can do to elivate the concern... moreover, I don't know what I can do between now and Saturday! Suggestions welcome...

The only thing that's really come to mind is an over the belt slide on / off clip... something like they use on the Siaga mags. I'm not sure where those come from. Carolina shooting supply... or R&R perhaps...

I have a total of 45 shots available to me in magazines for the Akdal. I have one set of coupled 10-rnd Firebird mags. I'm assuming I'll start with that in the gun. I have no way to carry that mag confidently on my person.

That leaves either two 10s on the belt, or a 10 and a 5 round mag to go in the belt as needed. If it's a short shotgun but heavy rifle for some reason, I can also swap out one shotgun mag for a Rifle mag.