Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

CZ 75 Shadow SP01 vs Grand Power X-Calibur

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• 7 months later...

Hello.
I am relatively new to the shooting community. I came across your forum and I find it to be populated by people that know what they are discussing about.

I am interested in one of those(K100 or X-Calibur). Which one I choose will depend on the following information that I can not find on the internet(hopefully one of you can help me out):
I intend to use the gun mostly on the range. But, if the necessity arises to carry it I would also like a reliable weapon to carry. Price and size is not an issue in my case but my job imply that I walk/ride ATV’s in sometimes dusty/muddy conditions.

So, when I get home sometimes I notice that there is not a single place on my body that is not dusty/muddy, this is why I suspect that a weapon placed on me will be as dirty as I am.
Obviously the X-Calibur seem a better idea(really like the longer sight radius) but I am wondering if:
-the sport sights can catch in clotting

-the “castelations” on the slide can allow the access of dirt/dust/mud more easily to the mechanism, and thus making the weapon more prone to jams/failures. Can the “castelations” be covered?

-the trigger mechanism on the X-Calibur, being lighten, is more sensitive(I ask if the fine tuning has sacrificed some of the ruggedness)

-another aspect is that my local distributor stated that a decocker can not be mounted on an X-Claibur(I prefer a decocker to a safety). Please share a thought on this also.

Hopefully one of you owners can help me figure this out.
All the best!

Hello.

I am relatively new to the shooting community. I came across your forum and I find it to be populated by people that know what they are discussing about.