Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

DIY Rifle Target

If this is in the wrong location please move it moderators and sorry for the inconvenience.

Since I am an engineer and I wanted to start shooting a steel target at a range by me (3 gun prep). However the range isn't my own I cannot leave my steel outside. I came up with the idea of a folding target holder and started to design. After a few designs I came up with the following.

Target in the completely folded position.

2012-09-18_18-07-58_978_zps60643094.jpg

Starting to flatten out.

2012-09-18_18-08-22_551_zps2d12ac31.jpg

Standing up. Side chains are connected in this step.

2012-09-18_18-09-26_113_zps21c1be1a.jpg

Finished

2012-09-18_18-09-52_44_zps075747c8.jpg

Engineering drawings and more details to follow.

Edited by smarcus3

The following supplies are required to make this:

• 2 - 8' long 2x4s
  • 4 - 1' long sections of chain
    [*}2 - Chain Hooks (see picture, cant think of correct name)
  • 6 - hooks
  • 1 - Shooting Steel Target
  • 2 - 1.5" long bolts
  • 4 - Washers
  • 2 - Nuts
  • 3 - Door Hinges
  • Box of Wood Screws

Here is my design and specifications. Feel free to use.

Target_zps1f5fbe09.png

Edited by smarcus3

Nice design , I am intrigued. Could you report back in after a hundred or so rounds and let us know how it holds up? Reason I ask, is I built some wooden stands for pistol steel challenge targets and after repeated firing, the H designed bases loosened up. I put stiffners across all joints and it helped a lot.

The wood frame is good for economics, but I wonder how many times you are going to need to replace various parts due to shrapnel hitting the uprights and feet. I would have gone with more of a cantilevered design to minimize the damage to the wod parts. Kind of like a U layimg on it's side. I am a mechanical engineer as well. Nice use of Solid Works.