Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

I don't know why this is...

CKing866

I'm pretty new to the sport and started in single-stack, because that's what I had. Recently, when I thought I had a mechanical problem with my "match" pistol (Kimber Team Match II), I shot a few practice stages with my carry weapon (Kimber Tac Pro II) and found myself shooting noticeably better. Turns out I shoot better groups with the Tac Pro as well. This seems counterintuitive to me because the Tac Pro has a 4" barrel and the Team Match has a 5" barrel (accompanied by a longer sight radius). Both pistols are essentially stock. Both supposedly come with match-grade barrels from Kimber. I'm not necessarily complaining, but am trying to figure out why.

Probably because with shorter barrel recoil, your grip is probably better on 4" or you hold onto it more. Also since sight radius is shorter you have to put more attention on sights instead of just pointing the 5" pistol. Basically you have to have better fundamentals to shot a shorter gun just as well as a larger one, or so has been my experience.

Maybe, you had more practice and experience with your carry weapon, and you had already developed muscle memory with it. Just any thing else, just gotta get use it first, and there's a "break-in" period. Try shoot it for at least 6-months, and see what happens then. Good luck! :cheers: