Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Body Mass & Foot Speed

Braxton1

We were having a discussion over lunch: Is there a direct correlation between body mass and foot speed? In other words, if I spend 16 seconds of a field course running and only 8 seconds actually engaging targets, could I lose 40 lbs. and expect to do it XX seconds faster?

We originally thought "Shoot a course, go on a diet for a few months, come back and shoot it again", but that has too many variables. While losing this weight, I'd probably be doing some sort of improved exercise regimen, so my leg strength may increase. Plus, the shooting itself is too big of a variable: I may pick up or lose time actually shooting because of shooting practice (or lack thereof).

We wanted to completely isolate "body mass" as the variable, so here's what we came up with. Any of you "I was a college football coach" types are certainly welcome to weigh in on this (Pardon the pun.):

Take a person who is in relatively good shape. Let him run a 10 yard sprint, stop in an intermediate "pause-and-set-up" box to simulate another shooting box, and then run another 10 to the Stop Box. Time it. Maybe twice, to get a mean average. Strap a vest to him with 20% of his body weight on it (The equivalent of a 250 lb. man losing 50 lbs.). Re-run the test and compare the differences. I think that this removes the variables of "months between tests" and the obvious variable of "the actual shooting", but it may introduce some that I didn't think about.

I think that a test like this would be the most-telling predictor of how fitness affects an IPSC shooter. I believe that grip strength and upper body strength would pale in comparison.

Opinions? Does anybody know of anyone who has done similar research? Football teams or baseball teams, perhaps?

There are really three kinds of foot speed...

Quickness, acceleration and sprint speed.