Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

confused on oal and crimp size

colbyjack

couple part question, im new to the 40 cal game. i just got my 650 set up. im runnning sns hard cast 180 gr fp bullets. my friend help me set it up last night. this load works well in his sti 5". i think its a little long and today at the match my close and far shots are key holing.

heres what we got

bullet : hard cast 180 fp

powder : tightgroup 4.7-4.8

primer : winchester

OAL : 1.193" ( he said 1.90" - 1.20" )they lool loaded way out.

crimp: 1.419" ( i think is too tight and causing the key holing along with too long bullets )

now my book says with 180GR jhp i know im shooting lead fat point is 1.125"

so do you think the long loaded out is causing problems maybe touching rifling, or and the tight crimp causeing it to hang in the shell and hit rifling at a angle and causing the key holing?

what should my OAL be an what should i crimp the 180 lead FP to?

sorry just trying to under stand whats going on.

add info: sti 5" bull barell, dillon 650, and dillon crimp die.

Steve i dont know, i will pull some tonight and check. It could be possible and that may cause the key holing.

Im thinking the less crimp may be a start. The 1.419" may be crimping the lead more than just holding say a hard jacketed bullet.

What about the oal, i know some people load long for pressure. But my loads are with in the manuals min and max spec. The 4.7ish i dont think needs to be loaded long. The book says with 4.7 tightgroup to load to 1.125". So whats the benefit to going 1.190"-1.120"? I dont understand. Thanks guys

TG really isn't a good powder for lead either which could also lead to problems. I have had good success with Ramshot Competition, WST, and Clays. I load short personally my OAL is 1.12 this way my Glock, 2011, and Single Stack, XD all can take the same ammo.