Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Book on early childhood development

glknineteen

So, kind of a weird topic I know, but this forum is so insanely helpful and insightful with everything else, so I figured why not? I'm starting to see this girl, and I'm really crazy about her. It really feels right, and I hope to God that it works out. She has a 16 month old son, and I have no real practical experience in the kiddo department. I was hoping I could get some recommendations on books, videos, etc. that will help with filling me in on some helpful hint type stuff. Not really anything about child rearing, as that's obviously not my role right now. Just something I can read, watch, etc. to help avoid any of those horribly embarrassing moments that come from complete naivety. I would say that what I'm looking for is akin to something you think all babysitters should read or watch.

Thank you all in advance, and please, wish me luck :)

learn to hold your tongue. the second most important thing to learn is Think Before you speak. see rule #1 if you find your self about to say something.

learn Patience.

Be Consistent

Do NOT! tell her what she is doing wrong, If you want to keep seeing her.

She put her self out their by letting you meet her child = put your self out their by telling her how much you care.

Kids do not always smell good, learn to live with it.

Don't offer to do something that will Gross you out = she will know & the kid will know

Did I say Be Consistent. two hrs to a kid that old is like a day to us.

learn a new level of sincerity, Learn a new level of selflessness.

Do not try to change just try to learn.

The next few years can seam as though they are dragging by and thin suddenly your grand kids are calling you on the phone.