Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Disappearing Texas Star

rpd

I'm new to stage design and I'm trying to put together a stage for one of the local clubs. As part of the stage I want to use a texas star propped up to be at rest with only two plates on so that it swings when activated by a popper. The star would be propped so the plates are up high and offset to maximize the initial speed and hard cover would be placed in front of the plates prior to activation.

My question is if I use cover that goes all the way to the ground can one of the plates(the one that would come to rest behind the cover after the star settles) be considered a disappearing target?

To complicate matters, if one plate is shot off the star and the remaining plate comes to rest straight down and not behind cover will that make it a non-disappearing target?

I'm sorry but I can't post pictures yet.

The plates are hidden prior to activation. After activation the star will spin and if no plates are shot at rest one plate will be available and the other will be behind hard cover.

If one plate is shot the remaining plate will come to rest available.

If no plates are taken off then the one target would be considered and scored as disappearing, so no penalty for the miss. The other target would be considered available so at a minimum it would be scored as a miss so -15 (5 for the alpha, 10 for the miss). If no shots are fired at the plates then there would be an additional -10 for the Failure to Engage. The second plate would still be a no penalty miss so no FTE.

The question becomes is it worth it to pop a couple in the direction of the star to avoid the FTE, and possibly get lucky and take one of the plates. How many other targets are planned for the stage? 4 paper and it is not worth it, you need to take both plates. 15 paper it is worth it.