Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Problems with stage planning and visualization

Pensfan

I started shooting USPSA in March and have done fairly well on the stand and shoot classifiers, just got my B card in June and even shot two A classifiers recently, but on the courses I SUCK. Mental mistakes kill me. The biggest problem I am having is programming my run, visualizing it a dozen or so times before my run, then when the buzzer hits, I just shoot brown and forget the visualization, shoot to slide lock, etc. I feel if I can get the mental game down, I can improve drastically. I just need to work on breaking stages down and sticking to the dang plan.

I have had people explain to me the visualization of the stage breakdown, but how do you cement it in? I try and see myself run the stage and it all looks great, then the buzzer goes off and I am just throwing lead at targets... CRAP reload!! CRAP didn't even shoot at that hidden target! haha

I have tried round counting, ie. paper, paper, steel, paper, reload, move to array 2, steel steel, paper, paper, paper = 7, reload, 8. Not sure how well it works as I find myself counting shots and that takes me out of the pure shooting.

So with all that... what is the best way to mentally plan a stage and STICK to it?

This has been discussed numerous times. Do some research and you'll find a lot of topics on that. Basically, there's no secret - it's really about experience. With more experience, you start to relax and there's less adrenaline washing through your brain so you think more clearly.