Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Bullet Style/Weight for USPSA in .45 Single Stack

CKing866

I recently started shooting in USPSA (.45 Single Stack) primarily using Winchester "white-box" 230 grain full metal jacket roundnose. Rather quickly, I concluded that reloading will ease the financial pain of feeding my new habit. I picked up a used Dillion Square Deal and am in the process of setting it up to reload and deciding on an initial bullet/powder/primer combination.

I've reviewed several reloading manuals which list dozens of load combinations, but am wondering what type and weight of bullets are considered best suited for my intended use. I'll be using the rounds in a Kimber Team Match II. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Cheap 230 grs. and the 4.0 grains of clays is a nice load. Bullseye is a good powder for 45. Some say it is dirty. But I shoot lead and pretty much everything seems about the same amount of dirty to me. I liked the can of 231 I picked up. Went back to get more and it was all gone. So I just went back to Bullseye.

Edit for spelling.

Edited by leas327

Bear creek 200gr semi wad cutters..

They make the most clean and perfect holes..

If your gun doesn't feed those well, then 230gr lead round nose from bear creek is a great one too.

Cheers!

I have long been using Hornady RN fully encapsulated 230 gr bullets, not cheap, but the have no exposed lead and are super accurate and feed great, but...

I am playing with Bayou Bullets RN 230 gr and they seem to show a lot of promise

Copper jacket in 45 is a huge waist of money..

You can get a killer Molly load and shoot twice as much..

I would go with Molly over lead becuse the grease on lead bullets makes allot more smoke..

Bear creek is crazy acurate :)