Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

.45 acp and Unique Power

dhaase30

Hello all, I am new to reloading and am setting up my new Dillon Square Deal B. I am loading .45 acp with Unique powder (its all I could find in San Diego). Any suggestions on load weights. I was thinking 5.0, but would like to go down to 4.6-4.8. Will my Springfield 1911/17 lb. recoil spring run. Thanks.

Hello all, I am new to reloading and am setting up my new Dillon Square Deal B. I am loading .45 acp with Unique powder (its all I could find in San Diego). Any suggestions on load weights. I was thinking 5.0, but would like to go down to 4.6-4.8. Will my Springfield 1911/17 lb. recoil spring run. Thanks.

What bullet are you using and what OAL? Do you have any reloading manuals? I'm not in front of my books but 4.6 sounds WAY low unless you are not using 230gr. For 230gr FMJ I was using 6.0gr for a 230gr plated round @ 1.26 with a 16lbs spring. I strongly recommend picking up some reloading manuals if you don't have any.

Edited by Dirty Rod

Yes, 230gr FMJ. It appears that Unique requires more powder than other brands.

Regarding muzzle velocity. as a beginner IPSC shooter, do I care how much FPS the charge provides or am I looking for the lighest recoil while still running my gun flawlessly?

IPSC/USPSA is governed by Power Factors.

Major Scoring is 165. Bullet weight times Velocity divided by 1000, eg: 720 fps times 230 grain bullet= 165.6 PF

Minor Scoring is 125 (I think). Bullet weight times Velocity divided by 1000

Shooting a .45 with a 230 grain bullet at 750 is pretty soft shooting, especially if you have the correct powder. I am sorry, I am not familiar with your powder, but as the above posters have mentioned, loading manuals or a must, many can be found online. You will also need access to a chronograph at some point. Befriend a shooter on your squad, most have them.

Enjoy