Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Slide Lock Woes

Tizzo

I currently have an issue that I don't know how to fix. I shoot a XD9 Tactical in production division, there are times when I make up shots, and due to that end up at slide lock. Problem is my slide doesn't lock back, there's something with my grip, what I think is happening is that my strong hand thumb rides the release. This causes me to not realize I'm dry so I waste a good two seconds dry firing before reloading. I know one solution is to simply count rounds, (an A class single stack shooter laughed when I made the counting rounds comment today at a match, don't know how to take that) but I was wondering if I should seriously start considering a different firearm. I'm not an XD die hard, it just happened to be the first gun I bought.

I do the same thing with my Glock 34. Its just where my thumb ends up, I like it when I don't screw up, it reminds me of riding the thumb safety on a 1911. Im no expert at this game, but a solid stage plan seems like the best remedy for me. I don't count rounds while shooting, but from planning my stage I know where im at ammo wise as a production shooter.

Don't count rounds, count the extras you shoot.

I'll just make a mental note every time I make up a shot on steel or an extra at paper. If I know that I was going to shoot say 18 rounds before a reload and my mag holds 21, then I know I have 3 extra rounds and I can do a normal reload, 4 and I'll have an empty chamber.

The big difference between SS and Production is the two extra rounds available at the start. Stages should be set up for a max of 8 rounds before you have to move to a different array. This means you have 2 misses before you have to worry about a reload. This also means that you can plan to shoot 8, move and reload as you prepare for the next 8.