Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Not making power factor with 200 gr and Clays

ChuckB

I'm new to reloading and I'm struggling to make power factor with a 45 200gr Rainier's FN and Clays. For OAL I'm shooting for 1.25 and the actual rounds are coming out between 1.25 and 1.26 and some change.

68 Degreesss

5000 Feet above see level

My average FPS out of 10 rounds:

4.1 Grains = 706 FPS

4.2 Grains = 723 FPS

4.3 Grains = 765 FPS

The FPS listed are averages, each round was all over the place in regards to speed (again new to reloading) but I have weighed every throw individually and not a single one hit the required 825 FPS to make Power Factor.

Any help would be very appreciated. Do I bump up to the weight of the load? Do I load shorter? Is there something else I'm missing?

Edited by ChuckB

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Two things; it looks like the OAL should be about 1.225 not 1.25 and what gun are you using (type and barrel length)? You may need to go with a different powder than Clays to get what you need.

Brian

Edited by Too_Slow

4.3gr is the MAX Hodgdon lists on their website for a 200gr bullet. And I've heard Clays has a very steep pressure curve if you try to exceed the maximum loads.

Are you sure about your chronograph? Can you compare your rounds with another one?

You say you're weighing each powder charge? What scale are you using? Does it return to zero each time, and do you have any check weights?

Dropping the OAL to 1.22" will help if it'll feed at that length.

I'm using a Dillon Electronic scale and I am zeroing it before each weigh. When I check it with the 50g weight it is 49.96g. I don't know what the chrono is, it's currently the only one I have access to.

I did check some factory Federal Champion 230gr on the chrono which averaged 806 FPS. The specs on the box are as follows:

Muzzle - 830

50 yrds - 794

100 yrds - 760

So the 12ish plus feet I was checking seems right.