Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

hunter frame accepts..?

houseofpain

Tanfoglio noob here, considering purchase of 10mm Hunter, but not unless it can double as .40S&W duty gun. from careful poring over the forum, i deduce that Hunter will "unofficially" accept Limited top end, but how about Match, which is more what i had in mind (hardier sights)? Others? don't need guesses, but testimony from those who've done it.

The Hunter frame will "Work" with any large frame slide assembly. EAA only sells large frame pistols so you shouldn't run into any issues with the Large verses Small frame situation. One thing that you need to look out for is the overall length of the slide. If you use the shorter 4.5 and smaller barrel slides the Hunter frame dust cover will protrude forward of the slide. You should be fine with using a Match or Limited slide on the Hunter frame and have the length of the slide match up with the dust cover.

houseofpain,

I shoot the rig you have described. My Limited 40 top end required no fitting, but was a little tighter than the 10mm or 45 Hunter slide assemblies. Reliability has been virtually perfect with well over 2,000 rounds. Your luck may be different.

One other way of doing it would be to purchase the 40 S&W 6 inch Match barrel and have that fit to the gun. Know a couple of people here in the great NW who have done that with a couple of them not needing any fitting at all. The spring that comes with the Hunter seems to work fine for those that use the 40 S&W barrel but they (and I) use a 18 or 20 lb springs for 10mm.

Respectfully,

JW

thanks for the reassurance guys. was a little more dubious of the Match slide meeting the hunter dust cover as Eaa's site lists LTD, Match bbls @ 4.75", but slide OALs @ 9" and 8.75" respectively. how's that? from your reassurances, i can only guess its due to a longer beavertail(?)