Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What load for bianchi?

Ed Robinson

I've been shooting bianchi for about 5 years, open class. Gun is a Para p14 frame, Springfield slide tritopped and lightening cuts, Wilson 38 super barrel with unknown 2 port comp, Caspian shroud with Aimpoint comp scope. I've been shooting 4.8gr WW231 under Missouri's 125gr .356 TC cast bullet. I know, I know, you can't shoot cast in a comp barrel. Well I do and it's accurate as hell. I just have to clean my comp every 3 or 4 matches to get the led out. I do have a couple Thou Zero 125gr 38 super bullets I want to work up a load for. What are some of you shooting bullet and powder wise? Should I even be worried about working the comp? At the power factor we're shooting at, recoil is so soft anyway. Thanks in advance, Ed

Ed,

Try 4.6-4.8 gr of WST. The best bullets for the money and accuracy right now seem to be the Zero stock #135 which is a 125 gr HP. One poster on here (Action Pistolero) posted a pic of a 6-shot 50 yd group with that bullet that you could cover with a nickel! That's the new bullet they came up with in answer to the Hornady HAP. That load works fine behind most any 115-125 gr bullets that we've tried so far. It makes for a nice soft-shooting load and is accurate as can be. You might try some different OALs too. The best accuracy with our guns seems to be around 1.215-1.240 instead of the recommended 1.250 from the books. Usually the shorter the better.

Believe it or not, that comp is working, even with our light loads. You'd be amazed at how much muzzle jump you'd get without it!

Alan~^~

Edited by Alan550