Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Very disappointed with Solo 1000

itotorica

I have been reloading for more that 25 years, but recently got involved in IDPA so I'm tryinig to developed a load around 130-135 PF using a MG 147. So after much research I try Solo 1000 behind MG 147.

Here are my results

Solo 1000 3.6.Mg 147 oal. 1.130 avg 813.96

Solo 1000 3.6 Mg 147 oal. 1.115 avg 817.57

temp was 78

None of the 2 loads makes factor. Do I'm missing something?

Why is Solo so popular?

Any help will be appreciate.

Gun is a stock G-17

Thanks

I.T.P

Edited by itotorica

A couple things come to mind:

1. MG bullets run on the slow side.

2. Later, more recent batches of solo run slower than earlier batches.

I would load it up to the longer OAL and bump up the charge. Look for pressure signs as you go.

Solo is a good powder for lead/moly because it doesn't smoke that much. If you're goin to run jacketed, you might look into some other powders.

if you are going to use solo 1k i would suggest getting a 4# or more bottle and develop from that bottle. Solo 1 k seems to vary quite a bit lot to lot.

Solo is soft shooting, clean and not too much smoke, but you need to Chrono each jug.

I like solo with lead bullets better. I do use it though in my plated .38's

A friend of mine, gave me some 175 gr. LSWC. I loaded 15 of them to an OAL of 1.121, with 3.3 grs. of Solo 1000. I shoot my .40 with minor loads in Production. If it's not raining Monday, I'm going to Chrono them.

The fastest jug of Solo 1000 I ever had needed 3.8gr at 1.135-1.140" OAL from a Glock 34 to make 134-136PF with Montana Gold 147gr. My last jug took 4.5gr to get the same result. As others have said, you need to chrono and work up with each new jug. Other than that, which I always do with any given powder anyway, it worked fine.

Don't expect to find any reliable, repeatable data in print or on-line. It's not a powder for a novice/inexperienced reloader (not saying you are, just stating a fact).