Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Gunsmith for reliability work on old Kimber?

59Bassman

I've got an old Kimber Clackamas Classic Custom that I purchased new in 1996. It's my first handgun, and the gun I started shooting USPSA with. I had an original Bo-Mar put on it as well as a S&A magwell back when. It's the most accurate pistol I've ever owned, but the reliability has always been spotty, regardless of magazines. I had sent it to Kimber about 5 years ago to have the chamber re-cut (mine was one of the early run with slightly oval chambers), but it's still having 3-point failures about 1 out of every 100 rounds. Which means about 1 failure per match when I'm shooting SS. Looking at the classic causes, the only thing I can potentially see is that the frame ramp to barrel distance isn't quite the 1/32" spec, but there is a gap there.

There's a part of me that says retire the old girl and just shoot my CZ's until I can save up the scratch for a Les Baer or an STI. But I'd also like to get it running, and running well. Is reliability work on the Kimber something to trust to the local gunsmith, or is there someone I should talk to about sending it off?

PM's are fine if you'd rather not broadcast to the world.

I've got an old Kimber Clackamas Classic Custom that I purchased new in 1996. It's my first handgun, and the gun I started shooting USPSA with. I had an original Bo-Mar put on it as well as a S&A magwell back when. It's the most accurate pistol I've ever owned, but the reliability has always been spotty, regardless of magazines. I had sent it to Kimber about 5 years ago to have the chamber re-cut (mine was one of the early run with slightly oval chambers), but it's still having 3-point failures about 1 out of every 100 rounds. Which means about 1 failure per match when I'm shooting SS. Looking at the classic causes, the only thing I can potentially see is that the frame ramp to barrel distance isn't quite the 1/32" spec, but there is a gap there.