Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Trigger Complaints

It seems all to often I see people so worried about triggers. I understand it does help having a smooth pull, but it seems like there are so many threads about how to improve it, how to fix it, and everything in between. To me, the trigger pull won't be the difference between an A and a D unless your shooting at a pretty good distance. It seems so much more productive to work on your technique then to blame trigger pull.

I agree to an extent. If its good enough. I've heard the same thing said about stock Beretta and Sig triggers. But I don't see many national champions shooting either... Technique mixed with a trigger in tune with your fingers ability to squeeze without jerking.

My personal experience is this. With a stock 5.5lb Glock trigger I didn't have any problems. None. Till I started shooting that same gun more and more. I started realizing that the faster I tried to shoot, the more I would jerk the trigger. So I slow down and no problem. But also the further the targets, even with a slow aimed pull, I would ever so slightly jerk the trigger. My groups showed it.

Now like I said I didn't have any problem. I was shooting good enough. But good enough for what?

With a 3.5 lb trigger bar and a reduced power striker spring, all the sudden my trigger pull is just under 3 lbs. The reset is shorter. And the world opened up to me. I could dry fire on a spot on the wall and that trigger jerk was gone!

I think a good trigger is quite important. You can be good or bad, but if you're shooting a crappy trigger, you probably won't do very well. The converse, however, is not true. Just because you have a good trigger doesn't mean you'll do well.

Would you rather shoot a 4MOA gun or a 1/2MOA gun? We'd all pick the 1/2MOA gun. You don't want to wonder if it's you or the equipment.

Darren