Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

If you had one week to improve.

Babaganoosh

Ok in a nutshell I want to beat my cousin at USPSA this season in general, but going to a match this Sunday. I started shooting USPSA last April and shooting handguns 18 months ago. I made C class in Production last year. He is also a C class shooter but he is a little better than me overall. I have beaten him in some stages but for the most part he beats me. He has been shooting Limited though so it hasn't been exactly even. However his times are usually faster. Let's put it this way. I think he is about 10-15% better than me overall.

There is a match on Sunday and we have both been talking trash about it. We both decided to register and go as of late last night. I just got a pistol to shoot Limited with 2 weeks ago. M&P pro in .40. I've put 300 rounds downrange so far. Haven't gotten used to the snappiness quite yet but it's something I can definitely tame.

The big question to all the big dogs, and little dogs....If you had one week to improve, what would you do, and how would you do it?

Here is what I have at my disposal.

I have a shot timer and was doing some draws from surrender last night. Consistent 1.5 seconds to first shot. I was dry firing at a spot on the wall. Was practicing my reloads as well. Dryfire, change mag, dryfire, change mag, dry fire, change mag, all the way down the belt. Didn't get a time on that yet to see improvement.

I have a spot I can shoot at on private property to practice. I have a berm that is approx 40-50 feet wide. I don't have side berms so everything has to be done shooting straight downrange, maybe a little angle but not much. I can move laterally left to right or right to left as well as towards the berm.

I have 10 USPSA type target stands and plenty of targets. I have approx 8 mini-poppers. Actually have a homemade texas star my cousin and I made. I have 10 assorted sized metal plates that we hang from 4 foot poles.