Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Play iTouch WiFi through older stereo

benos

It seem like someone would make a device that would allow you to play music WiFI form an iTouch/Phone etc. through an older stereo receiver (w/o an optical input or HDMI jack), but I can't find any sort of stand alone device that will do that. I know you can make it work with an Apple TV, but I don't want to have to have a computer and/or TV on, just to play my stereo.

If no one has anything for me, I was looking into maybe getting a Sonos 5 setup. It's gets good reviews overall.

I have no direct experience with this, but based on the following link it looks like you can stream directly from an iPod Touch or iPhone to either an Apple TV (top of the page) or an Airport Express (bottom of the page).

http://www.apple.com/ipodtouch/features/airplay.html

I do have experience with the Sonos system, as I have a couple of ZonePlayers in my house. It's a nice system, especially since they released the iOS apps for controlling it. Sonos supports services like Rhapsody or Pandora directly, which means you can control it from any computer or iOS device with the Sonos app installed. I believe that you can stream non-iPod music apps like Pandora or Rhapsody from an iOS device, but since the device is streaming it directly you can only control it from that device, and the Wifi streaming is going to have a negative effect on battery life.

One other benefit of Sonos is that it will stream music from any network drive, so if you have a standalone Network Attached Storage device or a router that lets you hook up a hard drive and access it via the network, Sonos can access any music on it. The Apple solutions need to go through a computer running iTunes.