Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Advice for first RO class?

First off, I have no idea where to post this so here it is. Second, yes I did a search but my search foo is appearantly too weak (as usual). I am attending an RO class next month and wonder what to expect, what to take with me, and how to prepare. I have been shooting USPSA for about 8 months, 1 or 2 matches a month, but just recently joined so am not yet classified. I have designed and set up a few stages and have been handling the score sheet the last few months so have a basic understanding of setting up and running a stage/match. I appreciate all replies but “bring a good attitude” is a given and not really helpful advice. I have a good attitude toward the sport, competing, and learning, that is why I am taking the class! I am looking for more concrete advice like; “a half dozen 3X5 cards are nice”, or “wish I had taken a high lighter”, “actually reading the rule book before attending is good”, etc. Thanks!

If you have the opportunity to attend a match prior to your RO class: Pick out a well respected RO, squad with them and observe them very carefully. Scan the rule book a couple of times. Get a good night sleep prior to the class. Everything you need for the class will be provided. Relax, it's a fun class. :cheers:

There's nothing to it. Some time spent reading the rulebook will help, as will reviewing the USPSA rules forum here or NROI rulings on the USPSA website, but as long as you stay awake, pay attention, and make a reasonable effort, the class is a pretty quick and easy day and a half.

It sounds like you have already heard generic advice ... being familiar with the rulebook is probably the best advice. Read it cover to cover and know what's in the major sections so you know where to look. You will find that a consistent theme during the class is looking up rules.