Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Meopta ZD 1-4x22 kdot question

FDVi

Hello everyone,

I am writing on behalf of a friend who does not speak English but is a very much into guns of all sorts. I apologise for any mistakes or inconistencies who are entirely mine as I am not an arms expert but merely serve as translator.

My friend is planning to buy a Meopta ZD 1-4x22 kdot. I have found some useful information in this forum posted on June 8th, 2011 (I seem to be unable to insert the link to the page - the title is "New Meopta ZD1-24 now available by Nick Weidhaas). However, my friend would like some additional information about the chevrons and how they are set.

Fullauto Shooter (poster of above link) lists the drops assigned to the chevrons. My friend would like to know, whether there is any information available concerning the bullet weight (grains) used and how the bullet weight influences the trajectory.

He is planning to buy the scope for his M4 Carabiner SS109 556 x 45 mm.

Thank you for your help.

Hello FDVi,

There was recently another thread on the ZD that stating the 1st arrow is 4.58 moa low, the second is 7.98 moa, and the 3rd is 12.11 moa. This is, I believe, from the center of the dot. The dot is 2 moa diameter. The arrows are 1.9 moa tall. The horizontal lines are 9 moa wide (if they are the same as the K-dot reticle). The gaps on the right and left of the dot are 2 moa wide.

The instructions that came with my ZD provide the below values for the dot and arrrows, when used on 4x

5.56Nato 7.62x39 186-223 Rem

Dot 100m 100m 100m

1st arrow 300m 220m 300m

2d arrow 400m 290m 370m

3rd arrow 500m 360m 480m

I am not sure what their underlying data was, but my KAC ballistic software tells me that the M855 cartridge (62 grn bullet with a BC of .151) when fired out of a 14.5" barrel will be travelling 2900 fps (883.9 mps) at the muzzle.

This is with standard atmoshperic conditions of 59 degrees F, barometric pressure of 29.92 In/HG, at sea level.