Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Stainless Barrel Break In

Congrats on getting yourself a nice rifle.

Pretty subjective topic as it all depends on the barrel, but here's what I recomend:

1. Clean the barrel well before even firing to remove any stray metal particals that may be in the bore from the mfg.

2. Run a patch down the barrel after every round for the first five shots.

3. Shoot 5, run a patch. Repeat this 5 times.

4. Shoot 10, run a patch. Repeat this 5 times.

Just my recomendation. Easily done in a couple hours, if it needs more than this, it probably wasn't worth a crap in the first place. ;)

Edited by Shooter115

Barrel break ins are a waste of time, effort and money. Just shoot it.

Pat

Instead of subjective topic, I should have said touchy subject. I guess I should have added that I just started shooting 3-gun in the last year and come from a precision shooting/benchrest background. difference may not be much for proper break in, but if it gives me a .05 MOA better grouping in the end over the life of a barrel, I don't mind spending the time or effort. Keep in mind my method is much simpler than a lot of barrel/weapon manufactures recommend.

A decent resource to base your decision on.

Gale McMillan on Barrel Break In

Also a Great Thread on Barrel Break In