Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Coach's 2012 Shooting Log

Coach

I have been thinking about doing this log online off and on for a long time. I am hoping that 2012 will be a great year. I am not concerned about moving up in classification. I am not against moving up in classification. What I most want is to be competitive in large matches. I have been shooting mostly Limited for the last three years. I am A class in Limited and in L10. In 2012 I want to put a large amount of plaques on the wall. I want to take my shooting to the next level and I am measuring that by winning not by classification. I would like to peak at Limited Nationals.

In 2012 I will be spending less time working matches and more time shooting matches. I will continue to be the match director for the WVPPS monthly matches but I am not working any major matches in any capacity. 2012 is going to be about shooting. Just prior to Christmas 2011 I finished my master's degree in History so for the first time in five years I won't have spring and fall classes screwing up my shooting hobby.

I have been a January - May dryfire guy in the past years. This is the time of year when dryfire was possible due to schedule. I plan to restart my routine in January and continue through Ocotber and Limited Nationals. I hope to dryfire four times per week at least. My plan is for the session to be 30-50 minutes in length each time.

So in 2012 I plan to do somethings differently in an effort to improve my shooting in a noticeable and tangible way. More dryfire than previous years, less time spent working matches and more time practicing, logging what is being done in practice, have an organized day every week of live fire practice and log what is done and how it went.

Let's see what happens and what a difference a year can make.

Comments are welcome but it would be nice if they were family appropriate and at least semi-serious. (Jake this is directed right at you, mostly)

• Replies 474
  • Created