twodelta Posted December 22, 2011 Share Posted December 22, 2011 I was visiting the in-laws this past weekend, and got to shoot at another USPSA match. This was the first time I had been to this club, and they have open squads. On one of the stages I had what I thought was a squib load. It was the typical poof with a little smoke coming out of the breech. The shell didn't eject, and it didn't have enough force to come out of battery. I stopped myself. I looked back at the RO, and told him I thought I had a squib. I took the gun apart. We looked in the barrel, and it was clear. The RO said he didn't see the gun while I was shooting. The RO didn't stop me, so I didn't get a reshoot. When I stopped, and looked back the RO was standing about 10 feet directly behind me. I feel if he had actually seen the gun he would have stopped me. There's no way I was racking another round in there to continue the course. According to the rules (220.127.116.11) I would have been granted a reshoot since the gun was clear IF the RO had stopped me. Since he admitted he didn't see the gun should I have been able to reshoot? This caused me to zero the stage. Two stages later I had to stop an Open shooter TWICE because of a squib. His barrel was not clear either time, but they let him reshoot the stage twice. Rule 18.104.22.168 says if the problem is confirmed the competitor will not be entitled to a reshoot. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.