Howard762 Posted December 17, 2011 Share Posted December 17, 2011 Shotgun stage required shooter to start with chamber empty, but tube loaded or magazine inserted, lying flat on table. RO comes up to me (as RM) a shooter or 2 later and asks me what the penalty is and tells me what happened: Shooter retrieved shotgun and while running to shooting box racked the bolt (FNH SLP) and a round came out of the gun. He thinks it should be a DQ, but did not stop the shooter at the time. I didn't see it though I was on the stage at the time. I did talk to the shooter. He swears it wasn't loaded. I talked to witnesses. They said it came out with force, looked like it was ejected, and didn't just fall out. Th eshooter is a USPSA master, but is fairly new to multi-gun. So he understands range commands and procedures, but is not overly practiced in multi-gun procedures. I loooked at the IMGA rules (which we were using rather than USPSA) and there is no mention of this situation. The scoresheets were not being signed by anyone so that is not a factor. I know if it was at the end of a stage it would have been a DQ, but what about at the beginning of the stage as in this case? Arguements for DQ: - Shooter had a loaded gun when he wasn't supposed to. - Shooter is responsible for the condition of his firearm - Shooter probably loaded chamber at preloading table. Arguements against a DQ: - RO didn't check condition of chamber prior to stage. (But I'm not sure I've ever seen that on a preloaded shotgun) - RO didn't stop the shooter and DQ him when he had the chance. - Round may have come from tube not chamber. - No one was ever downrange of the firearm so even if it did have a round chambered there was no safety issue. - Equal chance that if the chamber was loaded it occured during "make ready" and RO should have had him make ready properly. Looking forward to your opinions, Howard Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.