Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Having a couple of problems with my RL550B

I've been loading (mostly pistol) on my RL550B for about 3 years now, I think, somewhere between 5k and 10k rounds...so I'm not a total noob...but lately, I've been loading some small primer 45acp using mixed (Win, Federal, Speer) once or more fired brass. I can't remember if I used walnut or corn cob for tumbling this batch, but it was one of those two, with cut up used bounce sheets.

Anyway...the two problems are, the powder funnel is really sticking in some of the brass, to the point that the upstroke (until the funnel is released by the brass) is way harder than the downstroke, and I keep having problems with the primer slide not picking up primers because it's not getting full travel. A third issue I just remembered is that every so often, something is binding and not wanting me to quite lower the ram all the way.

I know the powder funnel can get stuck in new brass, or brass that's "too clean", but this stuff is neither. I know rubbing the funnel down with a scotchbrite pad can help...and have done that...but it didn't make much difference. I'm starting to wonder if either lubing the funnel or inside case necks is worth trying (or safe to try)? Is there anything else that can be done/tried to reduce the brass getting stuck on the funnel?