Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!
Sign in to follow this  
Jame Gumb

Caspian Double Stack

Hey all!

Sorry if this is a stupid question but I'm new to IDPA and was wondering if my 5" Caspian double stack is legal to shoot in any division? I've been borrowing a S&W M&P but would like to use my own gun.

Thank You

Definitely not legal in SSP. Possibly legal in ESP and CDP depending on caliber, modifications, and/or weight. Read rules on IDPA.com

What caliber?

In 45 and if it meets the weight requirement and loaded to 8+1 you could use it in CDP.

Any other caliber and if it meets the weight requirement, ESP loaded to 10+1.

Mine has a few aluminum parts (ms housing,beavertail and guiderod)and it makes weight easily without the mag. The mag in the gun is the issue. A little over 1.4 oz overweight and I just don't see where I can shave any more weight off the total package.

I'm surprised it's that heavy. Does it make weight without the grips? You can also take weight out from the frame under where the grips go. You can also flat top or tri-top the slide...takes a bit of weight out but not considered slide lightening by the powers that be.

What mag basepads are you using?

Edited by waktasz

Mine has a few aluminum parts (ms housing,beavertail and guiderod)and it makes weight easily without the mag. The mag in the gun is the issue. A little over 1.4 oz overweight and I just don't see where I can shave any more weight off the total package.

How about using a delrin full length guide rod, plastic main spring housing and instead of the grip panels use grip tape instead?

Not sure if using those parts would be legal or not.

Other things to look for and may be issues with weight are:

Bull barrel. Not allowed, has to have a bushing

Full Length Dust Cover: Not allowed.

Dimensions

Removing or disabling a safety.

kr

The Caspian MSH is proprietary so good luck finding a plastic one.

Eeewww. There goes that idea.