Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

gp686

Hi Everyone,

Great forum I have learned alot. I am new to reloading and I am about 3/4's of the way through my first and only bottle 1lb. bottle of W231. I have worked up a load that I like for IDPA, 180gr Bear Creek Molly Coated over 4.5gr of W231 1.125 OAL and for my 38spl load 158gr Berry's RN over 4.0gr of W231. I shoot both in IDPA.

While I like the loads above, I do not have any personal frame of reference to compare against when it comes to other powders. So I would like to get a different powder each time I purchase for a while that can be used for both 40 S&W and 38 Special to build up some personal experience and knowledge.

The question then is what should I try next? What advantages and disadvantages would the powder you suggest have over W231? Some of the things I am considering are felt recoil, cleanliness, case postion sensitivity, speed, pressure etc. I am reoading to help me shoot more for about the same or less spend per month as buying factory ammo, so purchasing multiple powders at one time is not really an option at this point.

Thanks everyone!

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk

Edited by gp686

Without a doubt, Hodgdon Clays.

Incredibly soft .40 minor loads, and there's data for .38 loads. (Don't have a .38 (yet) so I cant' comment on how they'd feel.)

At Area 4, I had an extreme spread of 6 fps. It's been pretty consistent for me.