Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Multiple Case Failures

JoseyWalesX

I am new to reloading and recently bought a 550 to start loading 9mm for USPSA which I also just got started in. I am loading 147gr. Precision bullets and 3.1gr. of N320. I loaded and shot 1k rounds with once fired brass that I had saved without a hiccup through my M&P Pro.

I recently bought 4k mixed headstamp brass from a local person. I loaded up 400 rounds with this brass and have had 5 case failures. They have all blown out around the shoulder where the extractor grabs the case, and one round had the head blown completely off. Three of the brass were Winchester, one was AMI, and one I couldn't tell. Is there a problem with the brass I bought? I could tell that it had been stored outside under a porch or something, it had alot of debris in the boxes, acorns, twigs, etc. I cleaned and tumbled it well before using.

Any thoughts on what is causing this, I hate to throw it all away if there is a way to tell which brass is bad.

thanks in advance

Hard to tell. I know some will tell you it was probably 9MAJOR brass and you should not reload it. I doubt that is the case. I'm shooting 9mm brass that has been loaded to 9MAJOR several times.

I have also loaded brass that had been outside for awhile as well with no problems.

Could it be something to do with your loads? Check to see if your bullet will push into the case any after reloaded. You can just push them against the front of the bench or go somewhere safe and cycle them through the gun by racking the slide then measure them to see if they are shrinking.You may be getting some setback which is causing pressure to spike. It could be something simple like a loose die. An undersized batch of bullets, etc.

Also check every piece of brass to make sure there are no leftover debris inside before loading. This will raise pressure dramatically.