Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Public range practice

jericho76

Hi there all.

I am very new to shooting. Still waiting for my CCW to come through, but get to the range occasionally with a friend and his guns. Obviously once I am legal to own a pistol,I want to/am going to get into some sort of competitive shooting,depending on what is in my area. My question is what sort of drills can I do at the average range that doesn't allow for movement or holster draws? Do most people get their movement practice in with dry fire drills at home?

If there is anyone from CT is reading this, do you know of any clubs involved with either IDPA or USPSA in lower half of CT?

I am so happy to have found this sight. So many answers to so many questions.

In the beginning I don't think it is that important to draw from the holster at the range. The mechanics of drawing should be learned dry fireing. One of the most important aspects of the draw is quickly seeing the sights and getting off a smooth and quick first shot. You can work on this at any range. Simply start with the gun at the retention position. This is where your weak hand would come to the grip during the draw. From that position press out the gun, see the sights and press the trigger. Fire only one shot then reset. Only go as fast as you can get good hits. With practice you start seeing the sights faster and getting good hits quicker. Make sure your mechanics are good, your vision is good and trigger pull is smooth.

You can improvise several drills by getting creative with the target. 3 Metrics at 7 yards, spaced 3 yards apart can be imitated with some proper scaling and ranging. The same can be said for plate racks.

I will say that it behooves you to go beyond simply drawing outlines on the paper, as your eyes will not be able to find the proper index in most cases. You simply cannot see those little lines as clearly as the real, full sized object-- despite the similarities in size.