Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Ruptured primers

justforfun

Had a new experience today while picking up brass after some practice. I found 4 cases with ruptured primers which is a first for me. I had already picked up many others and have not gone back through them yet to see if there are any more. Here’s what I trying to figure out, is it a load problem or a gun problem?

My load:

180 Bear Creek RNFP

Mixed brass

4.6 gr Solo 1000

OAL 1.11

Fed SPP

My Gun: G35 with Lone Wolf barrel, I’ve been shooting this combo for almost 5 years.

I have shot several thousand of this combination with one exception, I switched from Fed small pistol magnum match primers to Fed small pistol about 1000-1200 rnds back. Chrono results changed very little if any with the switch and I didn’t notice any obvious pressure signs . This load has given consistent 170-172 PF for quite a while. When I got home I looked at my striker and it has some rough area/possible erosion on the end. The primers look a little flat and definitely have ruptured in the indent which makes me think I had high pressure. Could this be caused by the striker being rough/chipped or was the striker damaged by the gas from the ruptured primers? I’m kind of puzzled on this one and hoping someone here can help me find the cause of this.

Had a new experience today while picking up brass after some practice. I found 4 cases with ruptured primers which is a first for me. I had already picked up many others and have not gone back through them yet to see if there are any more. Here’s what I trying to figure out, is it a load problem or a gun problem?

My load:

180 Bear Creek RNFP

Mixed brass

4.6 gr Solo 1000

OAL 1.11

Fed SPP

My Gun: G35 with Lone Wolf barrel, I’ve been shooting this combo for almost 5 years.