Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Remington 1187 Sportsman

Shawneeboy87

Hey everyone,

I purchased an 1187 12ga. Sportsman for 3Gun. My plan is to order an XRail for it and throw an optic on there. Any other suggestions as to other work that should be performed? I'm new to Shotguns and don't have much experience.

Thanks.

Here are a few things I did to my 11-87 to make it more user friendly and function better. Make sure you have additional o-rings for the gas system. Keep the gun lubricated.

1. Open loading port and bevel edges.

2. Add Dave's Metal Works easyloader gate.

3. Replaced the bolt handle.

4. Added Nordic Components extended mag tube.

5. Replaced factory Mag tube follower with stainless steel follower.

6. Polished mag tube with mag extension in place.

7. Replaced wood furniture with composite stock and forearm.

8. Added fiber optic sight(s) to rib.

9. Bought choke set.

10. Replaced factory action spring assembly with Surefire components.

11. Added barrel clamp.

I hope this helps.

Robert

The Remington 11-87 is a good platform for 3-gun (better than many shotgun snobs around here give it credit for :sight:). I have a 1994-vintage Premier with God knows how many rounds through it and it still runs fine as my primary Tactical-division 3-gun shotgun. The key to keeping it running is consistent preventative maintenance and part replacement (read this). I keep mine pristinely clean and lightly lubed - for multi-day matches I clean it every day. Parts for the Remingtons are plentiful and dirt cheap, so keep spares on hand.