Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Training exercises to get "muscle explosion"?

Demetrio

This is definitely my weakest skill. For the most I try I cannot get that necessary "explosion" to move fast from one shooting position to the next. I'm tall and a little overweight (1,84 meter, 100 Kg), which may have some influence in my "slow" moving, but I think I can move faster than I do today. :D

Just see how slow I move today:

:D

What exercises for a 52 old man do you recommend to get more "explosion" when moving from box to box?

Thanks for any ideas,

Demetrio.

I second polymetrics.

How good are your legs sir?

I'm a shooting newbie but for my other hobbies I've been told I have good explosiveness. I'm not good enough of a shooter to see the benefits of my physical speed..but I developed mine from doing a lot of gymnastics moves.. my first martial arts school emphasized a lot of flashy useless moves :P

My secret? Huge legs. Polymetrics should be the main workout, but doing squats and deadlift will help a lot.

A lot of people think weightlifting will make you slower. That is not true. It'll make you slower if you build a lot of useless glamour muscles but core workouts will always help. You'll probably see the best short term gains from squats and deadlifts.

Jogging/Running helps a lot too, and it trims weight.

Polymetrics three times a week, short but heavy weightlfiting wession twice a week (one day squats, another day deadlifts). A bulk of your polymetrics should be focused on sprints and such.

Make sure you got someone who knows what they are doing to show you how to do squats and deadlifts, and adjust your diet to accomodate the weights.

One of my favorite workouts to keep up my footwork speed in kickboxing was to do a 1/3 of my 3-4mile runs on the balls of my feet. Calf strength is very important to building explosiveness; you'll be able to launch off of the ground much faster, almost gripping the ground you're standing on.