Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

45 ACP - OAL 1.125 "or shorter"?

ntphd

I had a recent conversation with someone who has every reason to know what he's talking about, and I'm a relative newbie to reloading. What he said was so different from everything I've read, however, I thought I would check with you folks.

I'm loading 230gr RN FP moly-coated. When I mentioned my problems (some failure-to-feed; also, once the gun gets hot it's difficult to show clear at the end of the stage--last round sticks in chamber making it very difficult to pull the slide back and eject), he said it sounded like my oal was the problem. He said that I should be loading to oal 1.125 "or shorter."

Everything I've read in manuals, on powder manufacturer sites, and on this forum suggests that a minimum oal would be ~1.20. Most posts I read here, and most guys I talk with at matches, advocate an oal longer than 1.20.

Any thoughts?

Correction:

"Everything I've read in manuals, on powder manufacturer sites, and on this forum suggests that a minimum oal would be ~1.20."

I should have said that these sources recommend oal 1.20 or longer. I don't think any of them use the word "minimum."

My bad . . .

Your guy is confused, he probably meant 1.250 or shorter which would be spot on, Your problem probably isnt length, but a sizing, beeling, seating crimping issue. Basically over diameter. Are you using a Dillon seating die?

if your round is sticking in the chamber, the round is too long. you have not said how long your loaded rounds are.

remove the barrel from your gun. drop loaded round in the chamber and checked it drops in and drops out, if not, shorten till it does.

among other things, oal is determined by the bullet shape and your chamber length.

Edited by wanderer

among other things, oal is determined by the bullet shape and your chamber length.