Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

59Bassman's return to action shooting

59Bassman

Hello all-

I bought my first handgun, a Kimber Classic Custom in late 1996, initially for home protection. My local gun shop was pretty involved with a local club that shot USPSA about twice a month. I went out once, and believed I was hooked. With my Kimber in a Bianchi Hemisphere, some highly modified Bianchi nylon mag pouches, and a small stack of Shooting Star mags loaded with 230 gr hardball I'd made on a single stage press, I started shooting competitively. I was never particularly good, but had fun.

One thing I really didn't count on was my wife getting interested in shooting, and then asking if we could try shotguns. That lead to a decade-long run with Sporting Clays, where we got to shoot with some of the best competitors in the world and had a great time doing it. But life changes, jobs change, and we found ourselves a long way from a decent Clays club. After flirting with Skeet, I found out my local club also ran monthly Steel Challenge and tried that. It was painful. My old holster and mag pouches were gone, so I went out with a thick belt, my Kimber in an Uncle Mike's holster, and my mags in my pocket. It was awesome.

So I've rejoined USPSA (and got my old number back) and have been shooting a little USPSA, 3 gun, and steel challenge. I've still got the Kimber, but have added a CZ 75 Shadow, as Production is the largest class shot at our club. I bought Brian's book and have been working my way through it.

What's most interesting to me is seeing Brian put in writing many things that I thought I'd discovered on my own in Sporting Clays. I'm struggling to take some of my old experience from shotgun to pistol, but I know a bit about where I need to be.

My major problem (among many) is front sight focus. In sporting clays, if you see your front sight, you've just missed, particularly on long targets. Making the transition to front sight focus has been a challenge.