Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

First USPSA match, first Texas Star

SeaTact

Hi all. Being a complete noob, I'd love your feedback for my very first USPSA match. I shoot a completely stock Gen4 Glock 17 (minor PF of course). I chose limited just so I can focus more on the shooting and a little less on the reloading. My next match I now have enough magazines so I'll go to production.

This was called Let Em Have It. Comstock, 33 minimum rounds,max points 165. I scored 163 in 71.78 seconds. Hit factor 2.3. I placed 11 out of 13 for the limited shooters. And for what (little) it's worth I tied for first place in the division for accuracy. Which means I can shoot faster next time.

- I noticed my gun was following the last target on the star. Rather than moving the sight with the steel I should have just waited for thetarget to move into my sight picture (?)

- My transitions are inefficient. I should have been shooting the moment I'm in the shooting box. I felt like I needed to stand still to have a stable shooting platform and sight picture.At my level, should I still try to shoot while stepping into the box?

- Needed to reload while transitioning between shooting boxes.

- Still learning to call my shots so after the second arrayof steel I paused before moving.

- Don't know why I did that little hop after running throughthe left-hand steel targets

- I ran to the last set of targets just to get a little closer and get a little more accurate.

Edited by SeaTact

... I scored 163 in 71.78 seconds. Hit factor 2.3. I placed 11 out of 13 for the limited shooters. And for what (little) it's worth I tied for first place in the division for accuracy. Which means I can shoot faster next time.